A Descriptive Catalogue of the Naval Mss. in the Pepysian Library, Volume IV

Vol 57 (1922), J.R. Tanner

Samuel Pepys (1633-1703) made a significant contribution to British history by his work as a naval administrator, and he bequeathed to Magdalen College, Cambridge its greatest treasure – his library, a unique collection of 3,000 books and manuscripts, still preserved as he left it. There are 250 volumes of manuscripts and these NRS volumes published selected documents from the collection.

This volume prints Pepys’s ‘Admiralty Journal‘, being the minutes of the Admiralty Commission of 1673-79, of which he was Secretary. They deal in detail with every aspect of the running of the Navy.

To read the whole book please Become A Member.

Condensed Index | Show Index | Hide Index

About Joseph Tanner

Joseph Tanner was born 28 July 1860 in Frome, Somerset, and educated at Mill Hill and St. John’s College, Cambridge, where he took a First in History in 1882. He was President of the Cambridge Union Society in Easter Term 1883. He was a Lecturer in History at St. John’s from 1883 to 1921, and lecturer on Indian History to the Indian Civil Service from 1885 to 1893. In 1883 he became a Fellow of St. John’s and was an Assistant Tutor from 1895 to 1900, a Tutor from 1900 to 1912, and Tutorial Bursar, 1900 – 1921. He was Deputy to the Regius Professor of Modern History, 1926-27. He gave the Lees Knowles Lectures on Pepys and the Royal Navy in 1919. He died 15 January 1931 in Aldeborough, Suffolk.

His publications include
• Holland’s Discourses of the Navy (Navy Records Society, 1896).
• A Descriptive Catalogue of the Naval Manuscripts in the Pepysian Library 4 volumes (Navy Records Society, 1903, 1904, 1909, 1922)
• Pepys’ Memoirs of the Royal Navy (1906).
• Samuel Pepys and the Royal Navy (1920).
• Tudor Constitutional Documents, 1485 – 1603 (1922).
• Mr. Pepys, An Introduction to the Diary (1926).
• Pepys Naval Minutes (Navy Records Society, 1926).
• Private Correspondence of Samuel Pepys, 1679 – 1703 (1926).
• English Constitutional Conflicts, 1603 – 1689 (1928).
• Further Correspondence of Samuel Pepys, 1662 – 1679 (1929).
• Constitutional Documents of the Reign of James I (1930).